Day 7 Progress!

Well, it’s Day 7 and I finished Chapters 6 & 7, culminating in 4,665 words written today! That puts me at 27,966 words in total. I may lose some words because I stupidly made hairspray two words, but I’ll fix that in editing!

The chapters are starting to get shorter as the story builds! This pleases me muchly. I don’t like long chapters because there are so few chances to take a break and set it down. When you commit to reading until the end of the chapter and you flip ahead and see that there’s still another 15 pages of it left, it’s frustrating and it makes reading a chore. Reading for fun should not be a chore! That is something I want to avoid. So, again, editing, maybe rewriting.

I surpassed my original goal of 25k tonight. I can’t believe that this story isn’t done yet. I must be very verbose. I’m closing in on my new goal of 35k. I think it’s actually going to end up being 40k, but I’m not going to change the goal because what if it ends before 40? Then I’m a failure and overestimated the amount of words I was going to get. It’s better to aim low and exceed the expectations and look like a winner!

I have two chapters left: Chapter 8 & 9. The ending is going to be awesome! I can’t wait to write it. I think that this story might have 10k left and at the rate I’m going, I might be done on Saturday! Then I’ll have the rest of the month off! Oh, but a writers’ work is never done, is it? I might poke at the previous Plan X novellas for the remainder of the month. I think I’m ready for beta readers! We’ll see!

I’m going to bed now. It’s past my bedtime!
Thanks for reading!

XPJ

Leave a Reply

