Brainstorming Going Well

For the last two days, I’ve been brainstorming about “Sundown at the Castle of the Evil Dead”. I realize that I’m getting all kinds of influences from Clue, A Cabin In The Woods, and Betrayal at the House on the Hill. I don’t necessarily want to steal from them, but I do want to tip my hat to them and use what I’ve seen from them to put my own unique spin on it. I wrote a couple ideas down and I think I might have an ending, which is weird for me because I don’t normally know how it’s going to end when I start plotting it. I have a foreseeable twist ending that I’ve never gone for in the previous novellas. It’s okay not to have happy endings, as much as I love them, a good twist ending is never a bad thing. I have somewhat of a beginning; it’s the middle that’s my problem right now.

I had some folks in the #nanowrimo chat room talk to me about the difference between evil dead and zombies. I already did a zombie novella and I don’t want to repeat myself. They said that zombies are driven by hunger while evil dead are just trying to fuck shit up. I can get down with that. No more zombies!

Again, this novella is going to have a gay main character. I need a good lesbian main character in a novella. “The Undead Army of the Black Cauldron” had a lesbian lead, but I still hate it and it will probably never see the light of day, so I need another one. “Sinister Tentacle Sorority” has a female lead, but she’s not a lesbian, so, there’s that.

Okay, I’m rambling and it’s bedtime! I’ll update later!

Thanks for reading,

XPJ

 

Leave a Reply

