#Janitorpunk

Okay, it’s been a month since I’ve last posted. Sorry about that. I’ve been dealing with crippling depression and extreme highs for the last month and I can’t seem to keep my head on straight!

Production on “The Rise of the High School Creep” has halted. I got stuck and then I got distracted by a new project. It’s called “Deus Sex Machina vs The Gorgons”. It’s about a rock band on their last tour before they break up encountering skeleton armies that turn people to stone controlled by three witches with similar powers! I adore this project and I can’t wait to write it! I finished plotting that in quick time and tried to go back to writing “High School Creep”. I got sidetracked by the idea of pirate kittens white water rafting and thought about trying to breathe some new life into my gay pirates story. But then I got sidetracked AGAIN! This time an idea came from the Facebook Nanowrimo page.

Someone was posting a poll asking people to vote for the genre she should write for Nano. There were the usual suspects: YA, fantasy, romance, blah blah teleblah. Someone else decided to troll the poll and added “janitorpunk”. No one knew what the hell that was and started a thread asking the originator what it was. Even he didn’t know. So we all conjured what we thought it would be. I decided to take on the challenge of writing a janitorpunk story. At first I thought it might be a series, but I decided on a nice one-off. I’m still debating whether it should be a full length 50k novel or a 25k novella. I think I’m going to aim for 50k.

I’ve got some ideas percolating. The Janitor will work at a top secret scientific research and development firm where he’ll clean up the most bizarre stuff. He’ll come across an evil janitor who is secretly a scientist who was fired from the firm. He sneaks in to exact wibbley wobbly timey wimey revenge! I have an ending, but I don’t have a beginning. The middle is a little too ambiguous for my liking, but I’ll make it work. I’m going to forego writing the two horror novellas for Nano and focus on #janitorpunk. I don’t even have a title for this yet. I’m sure that will come. I have a month to hash it out. I’m so excited about this! Hopefully more updates to follow!

Thanks for reading!

XPJ

One comment

  1. MishaBurnett · September 28

    I think that the Necroid characters in my novels qualify as Janitorpunk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

