Mystic Guardians Excerpt

Here is my favorite scene from Mystic Guardians of Caerth, Book 1!

David and the Demon King are about to have dinner.

“What are we having for dinner?” David asked. He wasn’t sure what demons ate. Maybe a nice light soup? A salad?

“Pizza!” Jeff said excitedly. “I thought it would be okay to make food from your realm to better relate. I hope you’re not a vegan.” He shivered at the mention of the word.

“I’m not a vegan.”

“Oh, thank the heavens!” Jeff laughed and pretended to wipe sweat from his brow. “I’m glad. I put all the meat on it!”

The door to the hall opened and a small demon with a tray arrived. He brought the pizza over to the table and began to plate.

David’s mouth began to water as he watched the servant place two slices of three meat pizza on his plate. When the servant was done, he plated the king’s slices. He bowed when he was finished and said that he would bring drinks.

David waited until Jeff picked up his slice before he picked up his knife and fork to dig in. Jeff raised an eyebrow at him. David stopped and said, “It’s too hot to hold, so…” Jeff nodded his head and replaced his slice to opt for the utensils. “It’s okay to use your hands, your majesty.”

“I’ve never eaten pizza before, but I heard so much about it that I thought I’d give it a try.” Jeff cut a piece off and ate it. He chewed slowly as he let the flavor hit his tongue. He nodded his head after a minute and gave David a thumbs up. “I like it. I could eat this every day.”

“You’ll get fat.”

“What?”

“Pizza makes you fat,” David informed.

“Pizza makes you fat?” Jeff paused for a moment and stared at his slices. He mulled it over for a bit before he said, “I can live with that. Here’s to getting fat!” He ate another piece.

I hope you enjoyed it!

Thanks for reading!

XPJ

Leave a Reply

