A Change in Style

Hello all. Lately I’ve been feeling like my writing style hasn’t changed in many years. I feel that my writing is a little infantile. Infantile is the word I use to describe the reading level of my prose. While I want to write for adults, I don’t think my prose reads like it’s for adults. I think that it’s more suited for YA, and I don’t want to be a YA writer. My writing is heavily influenced by Power Rangers when I was a teenager. I think that I haven’t progressed from that influence. I want to adopt a new, more adult writing style using characters closer to my age (35!!! WOW!) and more adult themes. I have been working on an outline for the monster hunting prince idea for a while, but I’ve decided to hold off on it to do some research. What is this research? I’m going to read the Dresden Files books to see what I can learn. I’m on the second book “Fool Moon”. The story is alright so far. I just hope that I can learn something good about Jim Butcher’s style. 🙂

Well, that’s it for now. I’ll check in with you all later!

Thanks for reading!

XPJ

One comment

  1. MishaBurnett · April 7

    In my opinion the Dresden Files really gets going in book 3, “Grave Peril.” And if you like that, you might also enjoy Charles Stross’ The Laundry Files series and Ben Aaronovitch’s The Rivers Of London series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

