Dresden Files

I’ve spent most of the week reading Fool Moon, Book Two of the Dresden Files. I’m enjoying it so far. I’m not sure I’m learning much from it. One thing that I’ve noticed that I could use some help with is descriptions. Jim Butcher has a great way of describing things. That is something that I lack. I tend to focus more on the characters and what they’re doing instead of the background around them. If it’s important, I’ll mention it. That’s not always the best way to tell a story. Lack of descriptions has been one common bit of feedback that I’ve received. I’ve never really decided to work on it, but now I know it’s something that I need to do. Descriptions are important!!!

Descriptions of the environment are hard for me. I’ve never put much thought into my character’s surroundings. I never know how much description to put into the narrative. I fear putting too much information, you know, info-dumping. How much is too much? When does description get in the way of the narrative? I haven’t been able to find the middle ground. Trial and error is what’s needed.

In the meantime, I’m going to continue reading Dresden Files and soak up as much information as I can. I’m also trying to get more ideas about Monster Hunting Prince as well.

Thanks for reading!

XPJ

Leave a Reply

